Consistent Movement Will Get the Job Done

17 12 2011

I started thinking last night about how tough it would be to lose 100 lbs by September, and I wondered if there were any chance I could do it. 100 lbs is a HUGE task, but September is still a long way off. I realized that the Tough Mudder is approximately 40 weeks off, and if I were to lose 2.5 lbs per week I could lose 100 lbs in that time frame.

The best part about setting a goal so lofty is that if I were to lose 50 or 75 lbs in that time, I would be ecstatic. The truth is that I do not have to lose all of the weight before the Tough Mudder. I just need to be in good enough shape to compete. I want to lose 100 lbs, but I don’t have to put a time table on that particular goal, as long as I am consistent in my effort the weight will eventually come off.

For now, I am going to settle on 2.5 lbs per week as my goal. In order to lose 2.5 lbs per week I will have to have a calorie deficit of 8750 for the week. Assuming that I need roughly 2800 calories per day to maintain my current weight (a friend did the calculations for me – Thanks Matt!), if I were to take in 2000 calories, and up my calorie burn to cover the remaining balance, I could certainly accomplish this task.

I guess its time to set up my diet and exercise plan, and see how many weeks I can go losing 2.5 lbs or more.

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 12 2011
malissa

Look up Body For Life. It would be a great program for you. It helps you not only lose weight but also gain strength. Dan lost weight quickly just doing the eating plan, but incorporate the exercise and you will see the fat melt away while building & toning muscle. The three of us in Dallas will be joining your challenge without blogging, so know we are here routing you on.

17 12 2011
malissa

*Rooting

18 12 2011
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks for the tips. I actually have Body for Life, and I definitely like some of the stuff in there. I am going to be creating my own workout plan with a combination of things including Body for Life, P90X, and a few others. The biggest issue I always have is diet, but this time I am going to do some major work on my diet. I am planning on doing my research, and making some big changes. Thanks for the vote of confidence, and good luck to you guys too!

Leave a Reply

