Endorphins are Good! (plus before pics)

21 12 2011

I am starting to remember how good I used to feel after a workout.  I am so sore that its not quite the same, but I am feeling better and better by the day.  I guess it won’t be quite the same as it used to be because I am pushing 40 here pretty soon, but I do love the energy that working out gives me.  Another side effect that is pretty nice is all of that blood flowing to the brain gets me thinking again, rather than just going through the motions of my day.

One thought I had yesterday was that I am not 20 anymore (or 30 for that matter), and working out too hard will hurt the following day more than it does on the day of the workout.  I didn’t post yesterday partly because I was finishing my Christmas shopping and partly because I didn’t work out.  I guess walking around the mall for hours is a workout in and of itself, but I didn’t get to the gym to complete my usual workout.  I did get to the gym with my son for a few basketball drills, but again that wasn’t really a workout for me.

Today I dialed it back a notch, and walked for 30 minutes and then got on the bike for an easy 15 minute spin.  I think I am going to focus more on getting in “easy” cardio in order to build that base back up before I try to push myself too hard.  The walk/run workout I did on Monday had me limping around all day yesterday.  Maybe if I can ease myself into things, I will be able to push myself harder down the road without the side effects of my legs being completely useless the next day.  I can only imagine what I looked like hobbling around the mall.  I will continue to strength train in addition to the cardio in an attempt to speed up my weight loss, and build muscle that will make it easier to run in the future.

Anyway, I did have some new thoughts on the direction of this blog.  While I still plan to follow my progress through the Tough Mudder, I think I am going to work on ways to better get in shape for those of us who have been spending far too much time on the couch instead of the treadmill.  Maybe I can use this blog to get a few more people working out along side me, and I can gain additional motivation through the group.

As promised, here are a couple of “before” pictures to get this whole thing started:

Before Pic of Cliff - front viewBefore Pic - Side View

Day 3 - Before Pics

I’m not really loving these pictures, but I guess I have to start somewhere.  It is going to be really nice to see my pictures as my body changes throughout the entire process.

Thanks for following along, and have a great day.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 01 2012
Fausto Castel

Loving the info on this site, you have done great job on the blog posts.

21 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thank you so much! It’s really helping me to stay motivated.

Leave a Reply

