P90X day 2 Plyometrics – Jump Jump!

28 12 2011

I don’t know that it was a good idea to do Plyometrics and play 2 1/2 hours of tennis in the same day, but I definitely feel like I was productive today.  I decided to only do 2/3 of the plyometrics workout so that I would have enough in my legs for tennis, and as it turned out I played my best tennis in a long time (if not ever). Day 2 is not in the books, and I’m already looking forward to Shoulders and Arms which is day 3.  The soreness is starting to show up from Chest and Back, and I’m sure I will be hobbling around for the next few days.  I can’t wait to see how my body reacts over the next month or so, because I already feel better with all of my moving around over the last couple of weeks without P90X.

Plyometrics is jump training for anyone that doesn’t know, and it is one tough workout.  It’s also one of my favorite P90X workouts.  Plyo training is great for all types of sports, and I enjoy playing as many sports as I can even though I’ve lost a few steps over the last few years.  It’s going to be nice to see those steps come back, and I hope to be one of those guys who is in better shape in his 40’s than in his 20’s.

Tennis today was about as good as it could have been.  At the end of my last tennis session, Chip and I decided to just hit the ball at about 75% so that we could sustain some longer rallies.  We started today the same way, and its really amazing how after getting in the hitting zone for a while you can start to attack the ball, yet still keep it in the court.  We started to hit longer rallies even though we were hitting the ball pretty hard.  We ended up splitting sets today, but I really felt like I was hitting the ball solidly.  For the first time, I felt like I belonged on the court.  I can’t wait for the spring season to start.

I guess P90X and tennis in the same day wasn’t so bad after all, but I’m sure I will be sleeping well tonight.  On a side note, I am going to try to start adding more photos to my blog posts to make them a bit more interesting, and maybe even a video or two.  The problem is that the camera adds 10 pounds, and I don’t want people to think I have 5 cameras on me at once.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

