7 days to a better year – New Year’s Resolutions

1 01 2012

I usually think about things I would like to do differently around this time every year, like most people.  I generally think something to the effect of:

  1. I want to lose 50 pounds
  2. I want to make 1 million dollars
  3. I want to run a marathon

The only problem with all of my “New Years Resolutions” is that they never become true goals or for that matter a reality of any kind.

This year I have decided, after reading many blog posts, that I am going to spend some real time over the next week setting up a list of resolutions that I can commit to accomplishing.  I am going to include the usual goals like losing weight and eating better, but I am not going to leave it at that.  I am going to create a list of at least a dozen things I would like to accomplish, and then take the 7 that I am most passionate about accomplishing and make them my priority.

Every day this week I am going to spend time researching ways to accomplish each goal.  Once I have enough information to help me to accomplish each goal, I am going to list the reasons why these goals are important to me.  Finally, I am going to create a plan to reach all of these goals (both short and long term), and here is the catch  …I am going to follow through with my plan.

Spoiler alert:  The first goal I am going to list is blogging consistently for at least one year.

I guess I’m just tired of having goals, dreams, desires, etc and not following through on any of them.  The past couple of weeks of blogging have shown me that I can certainly be proactive, and get many things accomplished.  It’s a new year, and as good a time as any to have a fresh start.  All of the cool kids are doing it, so I guess its time I gave in and created my list of New Year’s Resolutions.

…oh, and by the way — Happy New Year!

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2012
2012: The Year I Lose My Mind « The Life and Times of Nathan Badley…

[…] 7 days to a better year – New Year’s Resolutions (theshowmecajun.wordpress.com) […]

1 01 2012
Happy New Year « My Loopy World

[…] 7 days to a better year – New Year’s Resolutions (theshowmecajun.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

