New Year’s Resolution #2 – Weight Loss – Lose 80 Pounds

3 01 2012

The reason I started my blog was to help me to stay motivated with my weight loss efforts.  Naturally, that is going to be one of my top priorities going into 2012.  I plan to lose 80 pounds over the course of the year.

I am resolving to workout 5-6 days per week.  I will strength train 3-4 times per week, and train for endurance/cardio 3-4 times per week as well.  Here are a few of the sites I will be using along the way to get the most out of my workouts:

7 Most Effective Exercises

P90X Workout – P90X Workout Review – P90X Extreme Home Fitness Workout Program – beachbody.com

Triathlon Training Schedules-Triathlon Programs|BeginnerTriathlete

I will be playing various sports throughout the year as well, and I hope to see some major improvements in my level of play as the weight comes off.

I have been told time and time again that weight loss is 80% diet and 20% exercise.  With that being said, I am going to be doing a few things regarding my diet:

  • I am going to schedule EVERY meal
  • I am going to keep a detailed food journal
  • I am going to drink plenty of water
  • I am going to get my fruits and vegetables for the day
  • I am going to keep the junk out of my house
  • I am going to blog about it

There are quite a few sites for diet advice, but I really don’t want to go all out right from the start.  If I were to go on a strict diet, I would be cheating or binging before a week is completed.  I am going to start with Weight Watchers for recipes, and some basic changes based on what I read at WebMD.  I particularly like the second item at WebMD about thinking about what you can add to your diet, as opposed to taking away.  It’s nice to think that I don’t have to take things out of my diet (at least not right away).

Weight Watchers company logo

Weight Watchers for recipes.

Every goals seminar I have ever read or heard has one key concept.  The WHY is always more important than the HOW.

I want to lose this weight for a variety of different reasons:

  • I want to look and feel better
  • I want to be around longer for my wife and my kids
  • I’m tired of being the funny fat guy (I’m not really THAT funny)
  • I want the steps back that I lost, athletically
  • I want to be comfortable at the ballpark, on airplanes, on amusement park rides, etc.
  • I want pants to fit the way they are meant to fit
  • This list could go on forever — and it will grow, but I will cap it here for everyone’s sake

This is quite a large (pardon the pun) endeavor, and I could probably dedicate a few more pages to getting this going.  I want to make sure I have a good solid reason to lose the weight, and I want to make sure I get started.  I think I have accomplished both of these over the course of the last week.  From here on out, its just a matter of consistency and time.

I think I will have a good amount to work on when I am done with 7 days, because I have only done 2 and it feels like a pretty decent task ahead.  If anyone is interested in working on any of their resolutions along side me, by all means send me an e-mail and let’s get moving.  The more the people I have to depend on, and the more people I have depending on me, the better the chances I have of succeeding with all of my resolutions.

Actions

Information

11 responses

3 01 2012
wartica

I’m glad to hear you set the standards high this year; I think we all need positive goals to set for the next year and on as well. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track.Hope you had a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

3 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks so much for stopping by! I certainly plan on doing more than I have in years past, and that’s the reason for putting my resolutions in writing and making them public. I plan to update my progress on a regular basis, and hopefully I will get some other people along for the ride that will chime in as well.

3 01 2012
manjotjawa

I resolved to do the same thing last year, only my goal was to come down to a healthy BMI. I lost the weight, but didn’t build much muscle because I didn’t do enough resistance training. This year, I’m working on that (Just joined a gym to start training) I wish you the best in reaching your goal! It’s important to remember to celebrate every little step you take. I can’t wait to hear more of your progress! Happy New Year by the way!

-Manny

4 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

I know what you mean about the healthy BMI. I was a bit skeptical about putting a number of my weight loss goal at first, and in truth I would be more than happy to lose 50 pounds if I gained my health back in the process. I wanted to have a BIG target to shoot for, but the number is really less important than the journey to that goal. Thanks for checking in, good luck with your goals as well, and I will certainly continue to update my progress.

4 01 2012
auredhead

I never set New Years Resolutions becaise they always seem to be about taking things out of our lives rather than enriching our lives. You have inspired me, as has followingjonathon.Wordpress.com, to make goals and define reasonable steps for accomplishing my goals. I lost over 40 lbs last year but gained back about 10 and must get that weight off before I gain everything back.

4 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks for stopping by my blog. I fully agree about most resolutions being about taking things away rather than enriching. This is one of the reasons I made sure to come up with my WHY list. I wanted to make sure I was moving toward something better. Best of luck with your resolutions this year.

7 01 2012
bgddyjim

Weight loss is 80/20 diet…and it isn’t. At 250 you’ll burn about 3,000 calories a day. To lose a pound a week you can only eat 2,500. If you ride 13 miles a day, that’s 700-800. Cut your calories to 3,000 AND do the riding and you’re losing a pound and a half per week. If you can cut to 2,500 AND ride – you’re at 2-1/2 pounds a week.

I love your blog. You write well.

7 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thank you so much for all of the replies and advice. This is very motivating, and lots to think about in the way of help.

24 01 2012
Tijuana Wallwork

Great post, im going to keep reading some more.

17 03 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks for the reply. I actually needed to see this post again myself.

16 03 2012
Jada Pero

A round associated with applause for your post.Much thanks again. Will continue reading…

Leave a Reply

