New Year’s Resolutions #6 and #7 – Maintain 4.0 GPA and read 1 new book per month

9 01 2012

It’s really easy to set goals that are similar, because when they complement each other you only have to focus one a few things.  My goal this year, however, is to push myself beyond what I’ve done in the past.  I would like to become well-rounded.  The best way to accomplish this is by setting a wide range of resolutions for this year, and I feel that I have done that.

This year I resolve to maintain a 4.0 GPA.  I will be taking some pretty tough classes this semester, including Chemistry and Biology with labs, Anatomy and Physiology, and some early Exercise Science major courses.  I am also resolving to read 1 new book per month that is not related to my course work.  I think this will be a bit of a challenge, but with a little scheduling and less time in front of the TV or computer, I will be able to get there.

The main reason for these two goals is that I want to push myself to learn new things, and to teach myself to stick to a schedule.  I think these are things that I have been lacking in my life, and by adding them I can achieve more in the future.  One of my long term goals is to open my own business, and I must be able to create and maintain a schedule if I am to succeed in such a venture.

My plan to achieve these 2 goals is to get my syllabi, and get started right away with my classes.  I want to get ahead early, and stay ahead so that if I run into issues I can address them before I fall behind.  This way I’m always proactive toward my classes.  This will be a little easier since my major is something I’ve always been interested in and wanted to study.  As for the reading portion of my resolution, I am going to find a good book early each month, and set aside time each night to read enough pages to finish each book in 20 days.  That way if/when I miss a few days I’m not thrown off my schedule.

I am going to take tomorrow to recap all of my goals, and set up an initial schedule for competing them.  I think I am going to be pushed a bit, but I know I can keep up with everything.  Good luck to everyone else working on New Year’s Resolutions, and I hope you follow them through to 2013 (assuming the Mayan’s were wrong).

I wouldn’t be a true fan without adding this:

GEAUX TIGERS!  Beat Bama …Again!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 01 2012
todays date

Just finished 2200 yard swim. Felt much better in the water than earlier in the week.

21 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

I can’t remember the last time I was able to swim 2200 yards. It’s going to happen again, but I have to get things in motion on the bike and run first. I’m not looking forward to the pool just yet. Being 280 pounds doesn’t really make me want to be in a swim suit near other people. The day is coming again though.

Leave a Reply

