Food for thought – What’s on your plate?

12 01 2012

We have all heard that breakfast is the most important meal of they day.  It primes your engine, and gives you the energy you need to get through your day.  Your brain needs those nutrients, but it also needs the right information.  I think your day depends more on the messages your brain receives in the morning than the nutrients it receives.

Don’t get me wrong, I think breakfast is very important.  I just think there are other things that need consideration.  How many of us have every had “A case of the Monday’s”?  …Thanks Office Space!  If you wake up, and all you can think about is how you don’t want to be at work, what do you think the chances are that you will have a successful day?  I am adding one last resolution to my New Year.  I am resolving to get something positive into my brain each and every morning.

Any of you that know me personally understand that I am a HUGE LSU Tiger fan.  LSU was handed a 21-0 beatdown by the Alabama Crimson Tide on Monday, and I had the worst day I have had in at least a year or 2 on Tuesday.  It would be really easy to say how sad it is to let a football game ruin my day, but the truth is it happens to all of us.  Your vice may not be football, but everyone has had those days when you get negative in the morning for whatever reason, and the day is basically useless.  Tuesday was a complete waste of time for me.  I ate fast food, didn’t work out, and got absolutely nothing accomplished.  I am not going to let that happen again.

From this day forward, I am going to feed my brain in the mornings.  I will eat breakfast, because I need those nutrients.  I will also read motivational quotes, posts from blogs, and/or watch videos that will help me to put my day in perspective.  I plan to read at least a chapter of the bible, and get thankful for the things that I have in my life.  I will use this information to help motivate me to move in the morning.  By getting my head right, and then working out first thing in the morning, I will be able to have far more productive days than I could have had otherwise.

I now have my resolutions written down, and I have put my plans in action.  This is a major step in a direction of success.  I have been a great procrastinator in the past, but this year is going to be my year, and getting things going early and often will be exactly the push that I need to complete more tasks on my to do list every day.

Breakfast may be the most important meal of the day, but its the food for thought that will get me moving and help me to be successful.  Step up to the plate!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 01 2012
bgddyjim

You’re going to have a full plate brother. All work and no play makes for an angry Jim. I’ve been following all of your posts and so far what you’ve written seems like it can be fit in a day, but barely. I get the whole procrastinator’s itch thing, just pace yourself. This is a marathon brother, not a sprint.

Don’t set your bar so high that you can’t even reach it to do your first pull up.

You’re on the right path with the positive thinking in the morning – this is something I know a little bit about. My favorite saying is; I’m not responsible for the first thought that enters my mind, but I sure am responsible for the next one.

12 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Yeah, I know its a fairly big load, but most of my resolutions can be lumped together. Training for the tough mudder and the 1/2 marathon are going to help me to lose the weight, and reading will help with keeping on track with my studies. I have really needed to get myself disciplined for quite a while. I think the biggest thing I have to do is understand that I may not reach every goal that I set for myself, but that progress toward them will have me much further than where i started. I guess I figured that 1/2 of a pull up is better than not trying to grab the bar, you know? Thanks for the encouragement!

13 01 2012
The greatest lesson I’ve learned in recovery… « Fit Recovery

[…] is one great lesson I got early on and reading this blog post got me to thinking I should write about it here.  I have a crazy thought pop into my head from out […]

Leave a Reply

