Old habits die hard — Time for some new habits!

17 01 2012

It didn’t take long into the new year for my first “relapse” into my old ways.  It has been a few days since I posted, and I wanted to say that I will be back at it tomorrow with my “first” post workout post of the new year.  I think Newton had it wrong when he said a body in motion tends to stay in motion, and a body at rest tends to stay at rest …at least when it pertains to human bodies.  Bodies in motion do indeed tend to stay in motion, but bodies at rest don’t want to move unless they absolutely have to.

I need to go back a few years to really get to the bottom of this post.  When I was younger (much younger), I noticed something that happened routinely.  My dad would come home from work, change out of his work clothes, and then have a nice dinner.  Once dinner was done he was able to “relax” on the couch and watch TV.  The word RELAX was ingrained in my little head to mean sit on the couch and watch TV.  I grew up with the understanding that after I worked hard at whatever I was doing, I was able to “relax”.  Like I was saying, old habits die hard.

It is my goal through this blog to kill off those old habits, and create new healthier habits in their place.  I have always had something of an addictive personality, and I don’t really see a problem with being that way.  What it means is that I need to get myself addicted to something beneficial, and move on.  My brother and I have long said we were lazy, because that’s just what was passed on to us.  I agree that we were “taught” to be lazy by watching my dad relax at the end of a hard day.  My dad did exactly what he needed to do to provide for his family.  I am in no way saying that I blame my dad for my being overweight.  On the contrary, I am blaming my false associating pinning relaxing to growing my backside on the couch.  It’s time to learn health through repeatedly doing the right thing.  It’s time to change my habits.

I have everything I need in the last several posts to get myself in the right frame of mind, and a plan to get me to where I need to be.  Tomorrow I am going to wake up, have a healthy breakfast, workout, and then move on with the rest of my day.  I am going to do that every day for the next two weeks to establish a new habit in the morning.  I am going to ditch the morning coffee for a morning glass of water.  I am going to ditch the cereal or PB&J for a two egg omelet with ham and bell peppers.  I am going to replace all of my old habits with new habits that will allow my body to change over time.  I only need to lose 2 lbs per week, and with the right habits it will happen almost without effort (relatively speaking).  They might just die hard, but the old habits are going to die!

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 01 2012
bgddyjim

No need to ditch the coffee, it’s quite good for you. Water is good too.

17 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Coffee isn’t good for me the way I drink it. I disguise it with creamer and 3 sugars. Water is the way to go!

18 01 2012
Apples and Arteries

Coffee is my one “vice” but with only a splash of almond milk!

19 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

I think I am going to stay away from coffee myself. I have enough other vices to hold me for a while.

Leave a Reply

