Laziness is one habit I have to break!

30 01 2012

I would like to say that I have been working so hard during my first week of school that I simply haven’t had time to blog.  I would like to, but I can’t.  I would like to say that I have been working so hard on my running plan and P90X that I simply haven’t had time to blog.  I would like to, but I can’t.  I would like to say that the cause was anything other than laziness.  I would like to, but I simply can’t.

Laziness is probably the biggest problem I have had in my life.  I actually enjoy working out.  I enjoy running, sports, weight lifting, and any other activity that gets my heart pumping.  I can play tennis, softball, basketball, etc for hours on end.  …so why in the world am I not in elite athlete shape?  Plain and simply put, I get lazy.

I have created a list of 7 New Year’s Resolutions that I had planned to accomplish, and while I am currently in school and truly enjoying my classes, I am falling far behind already.  Outside of my education goals, I haven’t been doing the things that I need to do to be successful.

Before I go to sleep tonight, I am going to create a schedule for my day tomorrow.  My day is going to include class from 8-1030, the gym from 11-1230, and various errands that I have to get accomplished from 1 until the kids get home from school.

I have more available free time than any other adult that I know on this planet, but I simply haven’t invested my time wisely.  Tomorrow I am going to make sure there is no time for laziness.  I need to make a habit of keeping myself moving toward my goals so that I at the end of the week I can’t say… I simply got lazy!

Actions

Information

5 responses

31 01 2012
bgddyjim

First, your struggle sounds very familiar. Second, if I didn’t care, I’d keep my literary mouth shut. Third, I can offer some help having conquered your problem.

This is a good place to start, you wrote, “Tomorrow I am going to make sure there is no time for laziness”. There are two parts to this statement that will allow/cause you to keep stumbling. The first is ‘tomorrow’. It’s easy, on reflection of the day, to chastise oneself and promise greater dedication ‘tomorrow’, only to repeat the same damned process all over again on waking. Tomorrow is too far away, it’s too illusive. You need to move that target up a bit to ‘right this minute’. I won’t be lazy right now, what am I doing right now, am I doing the next right thing this very minute?

Next, how are you going to battle that recurring pattern laziness? With a plan? A list of things to do tomorrow? If your laziness is anything like what I dealt with (and beat), you take that ten minutes to an hour to set up an elaborate plan for the next day, only to wake up and throw it out the window an hour later, then when your day is done you repeat the same thing all over again when you get to reflecting at the end of the day. In other words, planning is worthless if your problem is implementation…and having followed your every one of your posts like I have, it seems to me that your problem IS just like what I deal with.

I’m not suggesting to stop planning, or resolving to commit to action, because that’s an important first step, but you’ve got that step down. It’s time to work on implementation – and that’s the hard part.

A pound of action is worth a ton of planning. A plan is simply a list, an idea of how to achieve your aims. When you get to it tomorrow, I’d guess you will come to a point where you can implement your plan, or not. You’ll be at a juncture where you can get it done or put it off until tomorrow. If you choose the latter, don’t wait until the evening to vow correction of the behavior, change it the very second that you figure out that you’ve chosen the wrong path. I started with this: Am I doing everything I need to accomplish my goals right this minute? If the answer is yes, I keep it up. If it’s no, I need to correct my direction NOW, not when I’m done for the day.

Finally, thank you for posting – there are some small things at work that I can be working harder on. Without your post and my resulting comment, I may not have seen it so quickly – you saved me some grief. Thank you and good luck.

31 01 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thank you so much for your reply! I am always open to constructive criticism. I guess technically I was starting that minute, because I was actually writing up a plan. Goals are great, but I left things far too broad. I needed a framework. I DEFINITELY have a problem with implementation as well though. This is something I will have to work on consistently until I develop those new habits, and I will take all of your comments into account. Thanks so much for helping and good luck to you as well.

1 02 2012
bgddyjim

It is absolutely my pleasure brother. That last line of my comment is what it’s all about… Because you were brave enough to put your issue out there, you gave me the chance to share my experience, strength and hope, which in turn helped me to see where I was falling short. By giving me the chance to help you, you help me.

So how did you do yesterday?

1 02 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

I did really well. I ended up getting in a couple of workouts, had a great class, and got everything accomplished that I needed to. I also went to my daughters’ swim meet, and was able to watch both of them swim. It was a good day. Here’s to another one today!

1 02 2012
bgddyjim

Fantastic. I’ve got my daughters in swim school (they’re obviously a lot younger) and I take them every Monday…you’ve gotta love it.

Here’s to another one today.

Leave a Reply

