A journey of 1000 miles starts with one step!

7 02 2012

While I’m sure nearly everyone has heard this little gem, it really occurred to me recently that it made complete sense.  It came to me on a walk with my daughter the other day.  I was as out of shape as I have ever been, but I was on day 5 or 6 of my most recent workout plan.  It really was the first step that started me on my way to great things.  I still can’t truly see where I am heading, but it’s a long way off.  I can, however, see that I am moving in the right direction.  I feel better before, during, and after a walk than I do while sitting on my backside on the couch.  My couch to 5K program will have me adding some running this week, and it remains to be seen how my legs are going to react, but at least I am moving forward.

I don’t know exactly how long it’s going to take to get in shape for my first 1/2 marathon, but I am well on my way to a 5K.  I have walked every day for the past week and a half, and while my legs are sore, but its a good kind of soreness.  I have walked with my daughter, and plan to walk with my wife.  Hopefully along the way I will walk with my other 2 children as well.  We are also planning to put up a basketball goal in the very near future, which I think is a direct result of my being more mobile.  A body in motion does tend to stay in motion, and I don’t have any plans to stop mine again for a very long time.  At 280 pounds, it’s not very easy to run, but walking is quite tolerable.  I grew up a skinny, athletic kid, and graduated high school at 160 pounds.  I still have that idea in my head that I should be able to walk out my front door and start running, because I could do that for the majority of my life (even when I was out of shape).  I am starting to learn that all of those 40-somethings weren’t kidding when they said it takes a lot more to get in shape than it does to stay in shape.  It’s not necessarily harder, but it takes time and a consistent effort.

I am going to continue moving 5-7 days per week until I reach my goals, and I am hoping that at some point things start to become easier.  I have a Tough Mudder in September, and for the first time I am starting to wonder if I will be limping my way through that event.  I will complete the event if I am able to crawl to the finish line, but I would far prefer the ability to at least jog the open sections.  If I am brought to a crawl, however, I will still complete the event, and look forward to a 1/2 marathon not far beyond.  Sooner or later, I will be telling people that it’s much easier to stay in shape that it is to get back in shape, and I can only hope they will listen to me before they get to the point I have.  While it is an uphill climb, I at least know that I am climbing, and ultimately I will reach my goals.  It’s nice to be able to see the miles or time going by.  Last week I walked 225 minutes, and although my pace is very slow, it’s 225 more miles than I walked the previous month and maybe even year.

I don’t have a goal to walk 1000 miles this year, but that doesn’t seem like a bad way to go.  I am not going to be upset if I only walk/run 600 or 700 miles en route to preparing for my races, but 1000 miles does have a nice ring to it.  Thank God I took that first step, because it was a big milestone in my life.  That first step might just keep me around for some important things in my life, and the lives of my children.  A friend of mine from high school recently had a heart attack, and it really put some things into perspective (He is doing well thankfully – Hi Dave!).  When something like this happens to someone you know, and especially someone your own age, it tends to hit a little closer to home.  My journey already had focus, but when that happened it really made me think that I NEED to get in better shape.  I now have one more person that will help to keep me accountable in reaching my goals, and he has someone else to keep him on track as well.  Whether my journey takes me 1000 miles or not remains to be seen, but the first step is behind me and I’m not going to stop for a very long time.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 02 2012
Tennis Elbow

This inspired me to run/walk (ralk) 3.4 miles tonight. Keep up the steps!

8 02 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

That’s awesome! I am hoping to be able to run/walk a 5K soon. As long as I can keep adding on a little running per week I’m sure I will get there before long. Maybe we can run together over the summer.

Leave a Reply

