2 heads are better than 1

12 02 2012

I have always had issues with will power.  I have had many friends who said they were going to do something, and it was just assumed to be done.  I am not like those friends of mine with will power.  If I say I am going to do something, I really need someone behind me pushing me to complete that task, or at least cheering me on.  I was always a bit of a show-off growing up, and maybe that was a sign that I needed someone watching my back down the road.

I was taking with one of my best friends today, and he agreed to hold my feet to the fire regarding my diet and workout plan.  This may be the kick in the butt I need to keep things going.  I am really good at starting, but not very good at following through.  This week we are going to hold each other to our workouts.  Every day this week, I have to check in with him at the end of the day, and if I don’t do what I was supposed to for the day I will have to answer to him.  It’s a simple thing, but it gives me an extra push to get where I want to go.  I am going to do the same for him, and hopefully we will both be more productive for it.  I have always heard that it’s easier to lose weight when you have someone else losing with you, and we are going to put that to the test.

This week I didn’t walk nearly as much as I wanted to, and I am already falling behind on my couch to 5K plan.  Last week was very good, but its consistency that I really need.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done P7X, because like I said I am great at starting.  It’s about time I follow through and complete P90X and my couch to 5K program.  I honestly don’t care if I am ever truly “ripped”, but I certainly need to be in better shape than I am.  Even though I have someone who will be keeping me accountable, I am asking that everyone that follows my blog do the same for me.  If I don’t blog for more than a day, e-mail me, comment on Facebook, or give me a call and say “get going lazy!”

Everyone has heard the saying, “Two heads are better than one”, and now I’m hoping that it works for me.  If two heads are better than one, then it stands to reason that several are better than 2.  Today I am starting again, and I have already said I’m really good at starting.  Tomorrow is another day, however, and I would appreciate everyone’s help.  Thanks for keeping me going, and if you need a nudge feel free to ask.  The more the merrier!  The more people that I have holding me accountable, and the more people that want me to hold them accountable, the better.  ENJOY!

Actions

Information

5 responses

12 02 2012
The Weight Run Down

When I’m not motivated I start just walking around the house to get some energy! After about 5 minutes it usually works and I’m ready to exercise!

13 02 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

That’s a great idea, because I always feel better when I am moving. I am going to use this right now!

12 02 2012
auredhead

This is a great idea. I am going to enlist a friend to holde accountable, not only with exercise but with other goals also.

13 02 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thank you! Strength in numbers.

13 02 2012
bgddyjim

I’ll help. You can count on me. But I want to add a little tobasco to your idea. I know you’ve read my story so you know my willpower issue is a big one – don’t be accountable at the end of the day. Be accountable right now, be accountable the second you get the, uh, “skip it’s”. Don’t wait till the end of the day, after you’ve already turned your mind into a pretzel over whether or not you’re going for a walk or ride, or found a suitable excuse – call him the second you start trying to convince yourself to take another day off.

If your buddy can’t take your call during the day, email me – I’ll give you my number and you can call me.

This same principle works to stop lying, to someone else. Here’s the idea: The second you realize that you’re in the process of lying – stop, and apologize to the person you are in the process of lying to for lying to them. Most people stop lying for good after the first time.

Jim
t

Leave a Reply

