First official mile time in the books!

18 02 2012

After reading several blogs, and spending a couple of hours reading Bendoeslife.com I decided that it would be fun to get some time trials done.  I decided to start with the mile, because it’s as good a place to start as any.  I plan to get a 2 mile, 5K, and 10K in the books over the next few months as well, but for now the mile is more than enough to challenge me.

I decided that the best way to keep myself going was to have as many people to hold me accountable as possible, and one of those people is my friend Chip Brewer.  Chip and I decided that we both wanted to set a mile mark today, so we went out to Francis Howell North HS and away we went.  It wasn’t pretty, but we both got through it, and now we both have times to beat.

Cliff’s 1 mile PR:  11 minutes 12 seconds

Chip’s 1 mile PR: 9 minutes 45 seconds

We ended up walking a second mile after our time trial in order to get a little bit more of a workout.

Now that we have that out of the way, I am going to sign up for a couple of 5K’s between now and the beginning of summer to keep me going.  I would like to get another mile time in about 2 weeks, and then hopefully get a 2 mile time in a month or so.  My first 5K will probably be about a month out as well.  I certainly won’t be able to run it all by then, but it will be nice to get through one.  For now, I am going to continue to put one foot in front of the other, and good things will happen.

I will get a schedule of races that I sign up for posted as soon as possible so that I have to  commit to finishing those events.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 02 2012
bgddyjim

I like that idea a lot – you’ll be able to track your progress, and you should be able to watch that time drop quickly which should give you positive feedback fast and reinforce your drive to do more…

Keep it up.

18 02 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

That is certainly my hope! I figured the slower the time today, the easier it will be to improve upon. This will also give me the added motivation of being consistent. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

