Weigh-in day and speedwork session.

20 02 2012

Today was a very productive day on the exercise front already.  This morning I did a short kettlebell and speed rope session.  I did 25 kettlebell swings, 50 jumps and repeated for 3 sets.  I then did a few other kettlebell sets (various exercises), and a bit more jumping.  This afternoon I met Chip at the track, and we did 6×200 meter repeats.  Chip was doing 40 second repeats, and I was doing 50 second repeats.  We walked 200 in between each “sprint”.  We ended up doing 2.5 miles today on the track counting the warm up and cool down.

This was probably the toughest workouts I have done in longer than I care to remember.  I feel great, and although I know soreness will be coming, I welcome it.  I haven’t been this excited about working out in a long time.  I don’t know if this is going to be THE time I finally keep it going, and lose all of the weight, but it certainly feels like it could be.  I don’t want to stop doing this, because I just feel great when I’m done.

I didn’t really plan on making today my “official” weigh-in day, but since its as good a time as any to start, my weight is 285.  When I set my New Year’s Resolutions I was at 281, but then there was about a 2 week span where I simply got lazy.  My goal remains to lose 80 lbs from my original 281 by the end of the year.  Maybe we’ll call it 82 lbs, because I really want to get under 200 lbs for the first time since I was 19 years old and in the military.  I’m not so much worried about the weight right now, because I really just want to get myself to the starting and finishing line of a few 5K’s.  The weight will come down over time as long as I continue to run, and make some simple changes to my diet (some of which I am already making).

All I know is that today was very productive, and its only 2:30.  Time to get some homework done before my 7:00 Education Theory class tonight.  Enjoy!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 02 2012
bgddyjim

Awesome news brother. I’m leaving this reply on my phone so ti’s too much gymnastics to get the links for you but if you get a minute, hop over to my site, scroll down to the blog roll and click on i meie fioretti…he’s got a post about post exercise carb/protein replacement that keeps the pain to a minimum – it works.

Keep it up brother.

20 02 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks! I just checked it out, and I am going to grab an apple with some peanut butter for now. I have some protein in the cabinet, and I think I will buy some strawberries and bananas for smoothies after tough workouts in the future.

Leave a Reply

