Time to give me legs a break.

27 02 2012

After running a new PR on the 1.5 mile loop Saturday, and playing 3 sets of tennis on Sunday, my legs are needing a break.  I think I may go out and walk around the neighborhood today, but not much more.  I plan on getting in a good run tomorrow, and getting another 200m repeat day on Thursday, so I don’t mind giving the legs a day off today.

I think this week I will add a long walk/run to my workouts, but not until Sunday.  I am going to try to go somewhere between 4 and 6 miles, but the vast majority of that will be walking.  I really just want to get more distance in my legs so that they are ready for the longer runs that are coming in the near future.

If anyone has any tips or tricks to building up the mileage, by all means let me know.

ENJOY!

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 02 2012
bgddyjim

Excellent news that you’re getting ready to start your increases.

Be careful, don’t add too much too soon. They say 10% but I’ve rarely heeded them. It will depend on your fitness, and because you’re getting the bug it will be all to tempting to try piling on a mile or two a week. Don’t do that. Add a mile one run then back off one. It’ll look like this: you’re at three. Save the long run for the day you have the most time to rest afterward. At three runs a week, you’d go 3, 4, 2 (or 2.5). Next week is 3, 4, 3. Next week is 4, 3, 4. Next week is 4, 3, 3. Then add a mile to one day and subtract one from the other: 5, 3, 3. Next week is 5, 3, 4. Much more than that and you won’t recover enough before your next run.

On days off, go for easy bike rides – slow in a really easy gear so you’ll be pedaling brislly. That will help your legs losen up. The easy recovery rides have helped me a lot.

Good luck! And be sure to post how you’re feeling so we can help you adjust.

27 02 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks for the help. I’m not 100% sure how I will add the mileage, but I may just go by your notes there. I definitely want to add some easy spinning though. I have never been strong on the bike anyway, and I plan to do some triathlons this year. I think my biggest problem will be patience, because you’re right, I want to go all out.

28 02 2012
bgddyjim

My pleasure. You’ve got a good head about you so you should be fine as long as you’re careful. I can tell you, without a doubt, cross training on my bike has done more for my running and overall fitness than anything I could have done in a pair of running shoes. Good luck

Leave a Reply

