Dialed in the diet …finally!

28 03 2012

I have known for quite a while that my diet was keeping me from losing any real weight.  It’s easy to see the problem sometimes, but it feels nearly impossible to fix.  I finally decided Sunday to just eat right, and see how I felt.  I felt so good that I ate right again on Monday, and then on Tuesday.  I felt so great that yesterday I went 3.41 miles in just under 50 minutes.  One of those miles was in just over 12 minutes.  That may not seem like much, but considering my mile time trial was just over 11, and this was my 2nd mile of the day I think that was pretty good.  The best part of this whole change is that I feel great today!  The last time I pushed my body this hard, I was nearly incapacitated for 3 days.  This morning I feel like I could go for another run.  I am going to head out for a walk in a few, and I will see what the rest of the day brings, but for now I am going to keep my diet dialed in because it just feels great.  I can’t believe how much better I feel both physically and mentally after only a few days of eating well.

My brother told me that I need to start blogging my diet every day so that it keeps me accountable, so I guess I will have to start getting back on here every day.  As for yesterday:

I started the day with a granola bar, then walked/ran 3.41 miles.  I ate a piece of peanut butter toast, and then took the kids to play 9 holes of disc golf.  When we got back home I made a salad with a good amount of lettuce, 1 tomato, 3 slices of ham, about 10 slices of jalapeno, and 2 tablespoons of zesty italian dressing.  I have 5 cutie oranges (very small) for an afternoon snack, and then closed out the day with chicken and broccoli for dinner.  I also drank (5) 20 oz glasses of water.

I plan on today going much like yesterday did, and I guess I will be back to blog about it later today or tomorrow.  I also just finished reading the Hunger Games (it took me 2 days), and I’m in the process of reading Run!, and I will probably put up a few words about both books in the near future.  It’s amazing what a little bit of energy can do for you!

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 03 2012
bgddyjim

EXCELLENT! Congratulations.

28 03 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thank you! I took your advice and just tried to eat good for one day, and one led to two and then 3. I now feel like I can keep this up, because I haven’t been hungry, but I’m eating far better than before. I feel so much better already.

28 03 2012
bgddyjim

That’s why we do it brother. It gets a lot easier as you accumulate time. Good luck my friend, I’m very happy for you. I’ll look forward to reading about how you’re doing.

Leave a Reply

