My Resolutions, A follow up.

4 04 2012
Cover of "The Hunger Games"

The Hunger Games

It has been a few days since my last post, and there are a few things I would like to cover in this post.  I think all of the things that I want to cover are part of my New Year’s Resolutions, and so I figured I would recap my goals for this year.

  • Blog Consistently
  • Lose 80 pounds
  • Create a budget for my finances
  • Complete a 1/2 marathon
  • Complete a Tough Mudder
  • Maintain a 4.0 GPA
  • Read 1 new book per month (already 1/2 month behind on this one)

While I am in no way ready to run a 1/2 marathon or a Tough Mudder, there is still plenty of year left, and I have made some pretty decent strides in the right direction.  I have been walking/running 3-4 days per week lately, and it is certainly getting easier to cover the distance.  I’m generally only going about 3 or 4 miles per workout, but I was really struggling just to get around my 1.7 mile block not long ago.  I need to be a bit more consistent with my workouts, because I tend to move every day for a few days, and then take several days off.  My progress has been very streaky.  My GPA is a 4.0 right now, and I love my classes at the moment, so I don’t see that changing.

I have read 2 books recently, and I thoroughly enjoyed both (The Hunger Games and Run!).  I saw The Hunger Games movie with my daughters, and if you’ve read the book you will probably love the movie, and if you haven’t read the book I think the movie will be somewhat entertaining, but with some holes in the plot.  I would highly recommend reading the book if you are at all interested in the story, because its just so much better than the movie.  Run! is Dean Karnazes most recent book, and I think it was a very entertaining read, not unlike Ultramarathon Man.  Both of these books are very similar, and I think the second is really just another collection of stories that build upon the first book.  I can’t really say too many negative things about either book, so I probably wouldn’t make much of a critic.

I am not exactly where I wanted to be at this point in the year in regards to my resolutions, but I’m certainly farther along that I would have been with no goals in place.  I have started to get in better shape, I’ve lost a few pounds, I’ve read a couple of books, and I’m engrossed in my education.  I can’t wait to see how things have come along at the end of the year.  Going back through my goals at this point in the year will certainly help me to catch up on the goals that I have fallen behind on.  It’s time to re-commit to a solid running program, finish the other 2 books in the Hunger Games series, and start to blog a little bit more consistently.  I have been blogging at least once per week, but I would like to bring that number up to 4-5 times per week.

Thanks for keeping up with my ranting and raving, and I hope to keep things going until all of my resolutions have come to fruition.  ENJOY!

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 04 2012
divaofdelicious

Ha, We’re in a similar boat. My New Year resolutions turned into Lenten sacrifices really. I have been walking around Creve Coeur Lake and doing the 200+step staircase that runs along Marine Dr. a few times a week to get going. There’s some great biking trails in the area but I haven’t gotten riding just yet.

Hunger Games is awesome! My daughter bought me the book and I read it in a day…couldn’t put it down.

Good for you getting those good grades and getting back to resolutions…inspiring.

5 04 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

I’m a little slow, so the Hunger Games took me 2 days to read (lol).

I am in St Charles if you ever need a walking partner at Creve Couer just let me know. I have been out there a couple of times myself recently.

It’s tough to keep things going for me, but I’m managing to move forward. As long as the weight continues to go down, I don’t care how long it takes to get it off.

Thanks!

6 04 2012
divaofdelicious

Slow and steady wins that race, right? With the kids in school, I have mornings (so few of them left) to walk. I’m at CC Lake at least three times each weekday morning with a walking partner but she walks quite slowly. If you’re a fast walker (around the lake in about an hour) I’ll meet you there some morning if mornings work for you….perhaps I need the faster pace to do more good and more than three days…but yes, however long it takes, it’ll only be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

