Lifestyle changes are the key to long term success.

25 07 2012

It’s official:  I’m down more than 25 lbs from my highest point.  I’m 265, and I started my weight loss efforts at 292.  While I have been moving nearly non-stop, my workouts have been spotty at best.  I play a number of sports, and my daughters activities cause me to miss workouts now and again.  Life, simply put, can get in the way.  I changed my eating habits to include minimum amounts of soda, junk food snacks, and fast food and those changes are making it easy to lose weight even when my workouts aren’t exactly where they need to be.  I have made a lifestyle change that will lead to a healthy weight, and it’s really awesome to see.

I am going to try to get back on track with my weight routines, and I am also going to do what I can to get ready for an upcoming 5K, but I’m not going to worry about my weight if I miss a workout or two.  Today I plan on getting out and hitting a couple of baskets of tennis balls with my son, hitting the gym with my daughter, and walking later tonight with my wife.  I look forward to moving now in a way I don’t remember since I was a kid.  I don’t like sitting down for extended periods of time anymore, and even as I’m typing this out I’m ready to jump out of my seat.  The extra energy I have from eating right, and moving more just seems to grow exponentially by the day.

***Side Note***

For anyone that reads my blog today or in the future:  If you are having trouble losing weight, start eating healthy foods and just get moving.  It really doesn’t matter how much or how often you move, but get moving.  I thought it was going to be impossible to get rid of the fast food, but it’s been one of the easiest things I’ve ever done.  I used to eat fast food in some form nearly every day of the week, but once I started feeding my body the right kinds of foods it honestly quit craving that nasty stuff that fills fast food.  It only took a couple of weeks, and now I crave the energy that I get from fruits, veggies, and lean proteins.  It’s crazy for me to even say things like this at 265, but it’s amazing how quickly your body can adapt and change.  I hope everyone gets to see how this feels at some point, because if they do there won’t be any going back.
Enjoy!

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 07 2012
divaofdelicious

Congrats on your weight loss! I’ve been off the fast food and sugars too for a while and have lost about 15 lbs since mid-June. I agree with your note, I feel more energy from both a better diet and more activity.

Since I’m grilling everything or just peeling and eating, my cooking entries have been less frequent because everyone knows how fire works, how to peel an orange, or slice an apple. Raw fruit is all I want in this heat we’re having..not much room for creativity. Ah well, my blog needs its challenges too. 🙂

26 07 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks, and congrats yourself. When it comes to diet, mine has become fairly boring, but definitely easy. The easier the better IMO.

Leave a Reply

