I do so love Fridays …and Crossfit!

3 08 2012

…so I had every intention of getting in an easy 5K on the rower before my Crossfit workout for the day.  I then proceeded to set a new PR at 21:52.9!  I was really moving, and it just felt good so I went for it.

I was really feeling it around 10 minutes into my Crossfit workout though.  I took my workout today from Crossfit TNT in St Charles, MO:  http://www.crossfit-tnt.com/blog/

I think I am going to try to stick to their programming for a while so that I keep it varied, and get a solid base built up.  I am having to use their scaled workouts, but at the rate I’m going it’s only a matter of time before I’m doing the workouts as Rx.

Today’s workout was:

“JAYBIRD” WOD

RX
5 Rounds for time
3 Power snatches @70% body weight
5 HSPU
7 Box jumps(24/20)(games standard)

INT
5 Rounds for time
3 Power snatches @60% body weight
5 HSPU ab mat
7 Box jumps(24/20)(games standard)

SCALED
5 Rounds for time
3 Power snatches 50% body weight
10 Push ups
7 Box jumps use bumpers for 12/16’ height (games standard)

I did 5 rounds in just under 16 minutes with much lighter snatches, because I had never done them before.  I went to the Crossfit main site to get the form down as best I could, and I perfomed the lift with only 65 lbs today.  I will move up as I feel better.  I did one set with 115 lb, and it wasn’t too heavy, but my form is just not there, and I didn’t want to do any damage.  I did the 10 pushups per set, except the first set where I did 20, because I forgot what I was doing (hehe).  I did 10 box jumps per set on an 16-18″ box I think.  I didn’t realize the workout was for 7.  I guess next time I’ll print it up and bring it with me.

I was certainly done after this workout, but now I feel really accomplished.  I can’t wait to be able to get these workouts in as prescribed.  I know it will come as the weight goes down.

Have a great weekend.  Enjoy!

 

Actions

Information

One response

3 08 2012
What I Love About Cross-Fit « Fit Recovery

[…] And then, out of the blue, I read this: […]

Leave a Reply

