New distance, new PR!

7 08 2012

…so I decided to get a best time in the 2K since I hadn’t rowed 2K for time before, and boy did I set the bar high for myself.  7:58 for the 2K distance, and it was tough.  I’m sure I will be able to better my time at some point, but this one will not be easy.  I did an easy 1K after this tough effort in 4:55 as a cool down.

I then did a couple of laps around the indoor track, and moved on to the weights.  I did 5 sets of 3 reps on the minute of power cleans with 135 lbs.  The weight really doesn’t matter, but it was significant in that this was the weight I was lifting in high school when I did power cleans.  The jumps are coming fast and furious, and it just felt good to get this weight up with “relative” ease.

I then did 4 super-sets of the following:

10 dips (with legs on a 12″ block), 25 air squats, 50 singles (jump rope), 1 lap cool down on the indoor track.

It was a pretty tough workout, and it felt great to get through it.  Tomorrow I will be heading to Kansas City with my wife for a couple of days, so I will have to be a bit more creative with my workouts.  I will watch the calories as closely as possible, and at a minimum do push ups, sit ups, and squats in the room.  I think there is a small-ish gym at the hotel, so I’ll figure something out.

I’m also in the 250’s!  I’m down to 258, and it’s the lowest I have been in 6-8 years or so.  200 is definitely going to happen, and it’s simply a matter of time.  …for now, that’s a total weight loss of 34 lbs.

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

