The Big 4-0 is nearly here!

11 08 2012

So Wednesday I was able to take a short trip to KC, MO with my wife who was heading over there for work.  It was a couple of days of just the 2 of us, with a her having to work in between.  I truly enjoyed that time, because with 3 kids we don’t get a bunch of alone time lately.  This wasn’t, however, the best few days for my transformation.

We had fast food 2 times, and dinner at Jack Stacks BBQ in KC.  On the upside, the fast food was Subway and Chick-Fil-A.  The BBQ was amazing to the taste, but horrible to the waist.  The fast food wasn’t too bad, but it still wasn’t my usual fare.  I’m sure my daily caloric intake was at least 1K above normal for both of those days, but I gave myself a break since this is a one time trip.  I was right back to my usual diet when I returned from the trip, which was a big win for me.  It just really shows that I have made real changes.

I walked quite a bit while I was there, and worked out once at the hotel gym.  It wasn’t my usual intensity, but it was still a good calorie burn.  Yesterday I was back to my usual with a 30 minute session on the rower, and tennis in the afternoon.  Today was a decent softball tourney where my team went 2-2.  We played ok, but not as well as we could have.  I love the fact that it didn’t take it all out of me the way 4 games used to.  I’m certainly in better shape that I was just a couple of months ago.  Tomorrow I have tennis in the morning, and it should be fun.

Tomorrow is a big day for me, because I’m turning 40!  I can honestly say that I will be in better shape at 40 than I was at 30, and that feels awesome.  I can’t wait to say that I feel better at 41 than I did at 20.  I’m truly enjoying the process, and while I can’t wait to get under 200 lbs, I am really enjoying the little victories that I have almost daily.

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 08 2012
auredhead

Hello! I so enjoy reading about your fitness journey and the way you approach life. I have nominated you for a Sunshine Award.

A Sunshine Award!
To my amazement, I have been nominated for a Sunshine Award by Ginger Ray at www. dailylifewithfibromyalgia.com! I didn’t even know there were awards, but I am so happy that someone has read my blog and likes some of my posts. This is major encouragement for a new blogger, especially since I haven’t quite gotten used to this blogging thing yet and pretty much just write whatever is on my mind that day instead of following any set topic. Thank you Ginger. You made my day.

So, Here are the rules:

1. If you are nominated, you must blog a post linking back to the person/blog that nominated you.

2. You must answer some questions, nominate ten fellow bloggers and link their blogs to the post!

3. You should comment on your nominees’ blogs to let them know you’ve nominated them.

So, here are the questions:

1. Who is your favorite philosopher?

I have never thought about this. I guess C.S. Lewis.

2. What is your favorite number?

Seven, but I don’t know why.

3. What is your favorite animal?

Dog. Now, this is strange if you knew me, because for most of my life I was terrified of dogs. All dogs, large or small, it didn’t matter. I was terrified. But, I had a child and I didn’t want him to learn my fear of dogs, so I worked very hard to overcome that fear. I now love dogs. Some more than others. I have a lovable little Shih Tzu named Lulu.

4. What are your Facebook and Twitter URLs?

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/katherine.corley1

I have a Twitter account, but never use it.

5. What is your favorite time of the day?

Late afternoon, when it is almost evening, and the world is slowing down. I especially love this time of day if I am at the beach or a lake. There is something so calming about sitting and watching the sun set over the water. .

6. What was your favorite vacation?

My honeymoon to Breckenridge, CO. Although I am now divorced, I still think that was my favorite vaction because it was my first time skiing in the Rocky Mountains. However, any vacation on a beach, particularly the Gulf of Mexico, is my favorite vacation. One day I will move there.

7. What is your favorite physical activity?

It is working out with weights, however, since I have fibromyalgia and migraines, I don’t do this as much as I would like. I have to be careful not to push myself too hard. Also, walking.

8. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Coca-cola!

9. What is your favorite flower?

Tulips.

10. What is your passion?

Reading.

My ’10′ Blogger Nominees

I’m so new to blogging that I don’t have 10. Sorry.

1. https://theshowmecajun.wordpress.com/

2. http://dearmsmigraine.com/

3. http://infinitesadnessorhope.wordpress.com/

4. http://walkingthroughpain.wordpress.com/

Have a great day and enjoy this little bit of Sunshine!

12 08 2012
bgddyjim

Happy 40th brother.

12 08 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

Thanks bud. It was a really good day. I hope the next 40 are just as much fun!

Leave a Reply

