Time for a reboot!

18 09 2012

It’s times like this that I have to look back at my New Year’s Resolutions to see where I am in regards to my goals for the year.

Just as a recap, here were my goals in early January:

  • Blog Consistently
  • Lose 80 pounds
  • Create a budget for my finances
  • Complete a 1/2 marathon
  • Complete a Tough Mudder
  • Maintain a 4.0 GPA
  • Read 1 new book per month

With the exception of the last couple of weeks, I have blogged fairly consistently this year.  I was down 30 lbs, but have recently put 5 back on.  25 is a good start, but I’m not quite on schedule to lose 80.  I will be happy to start 2013 lower than I started 2012, but I’m not giving up just yet.  I really need to sit down and create a budget, because this is a big goal that I never even touched.  I will sit down one day this week, and look at the numbers.  I haven’t run consistently, and it would be tough to complete a half marathon this year but a couple of 5K’s might be a good starting point.  The Tough Mudder is not going to happen this year (my brother’s wife had a baby and he never came up for the race – this is just an excuse, but I really wanted to do that race with my brother).  I kept my GPA at 4.0 in the spring, and it’s looking really good so far this fall.  I have read 6 new books total this year, if I am remembering right.  I need to get in a couple per month if I want to get this one done.

I’m glad I looked back at my resolutions, because I am much farther along than I would have been with no goals to begin with, but not nearly as far as I would like to be.  It’s time to recharge, and get things moving in the right direction again.  I know everyone struggles to keep things going, but I am just not going to let myself go backwards.  I’ve been far too lazy since the start of the school year.  Laziness is NOT a good quality in a teacher, and I will be student teaching in the Spring.  It’s time to lose that part of my personality, and replace it with a newly motivated me.

I am going to set up a new schedule this week to help me to stop getting side-tracked.  I can really get things done when I’m moving, and I stay moving when I work out every day and eat right.  I am going to sit down right now and knock out a schedule for my diet, workouts, and studying so that I can keep myself moving.  My number one goal for this week is going to be MOVEMENT.  As long as I move every day, I will easily get back on track.

On a side note, the Fall tennis season starts up this weekend, so wish me luck.

Enjoy!

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 09 2012
bgddyjim

The funny thing about races, even tough mudders, is that they’re a distance. Your body won’t react to you running a race…it will to your being able to do the distance. Are you picking up what I’m laying down?

18 09 2012
The Show-Me Cajun

I hear you, but I don’t know that I have enough base to get that done this year anyway. Maybe I’m selling myself a bit short. I am going to start running again, as part of my usual routine, and I will see how my endurance goes. I will certainly be able to get there; I’m just not sure how long it’s going to take. Thanks!

19 09 2012
bgddyjim

Don’t sweat how long it takes, the goal is to push yourself without getting hurt – it’s a very fine line. The point I was trying to make is that if you can work up to the distance and maintain it you won’t have to worry about whether or not you get to race. Keep up the good work, I’d bet your closer than you think. I believe in you brother.

Leave a Reply

