Why am I here?

27 02 2013

This question can be a very big question, such as why am I on this planet or what is the meaning of life. This could also mean, why am I doing what I’m doing at this time in my life. I am posing this question to myself, however, to figure out how I arrived at this point in my life physically (and maybe mentally or emotionally).

 

Challenge America Picture

The Biggest Loser: Challenge America

One of my favorite TV shows has been The Biggest Loser. We DVR the show every week, and I don’t think that I’ve ever missed an episode. It’s really easy to sit back and think that I could do that, or I could win those challenges. Every person on that show has a reason for being there. They tend to whine a bunch, and many of them blame their problems on others. Ultimately, for the most successful on the show, the trainers get to the bottom of WHY they are on the show to begin with, and they help the contestants to make real life changes.

…so back to my initial question: “Why am I here?”

I was a skinny, athletic kid. My kids always give me trouble when I talk about my childhood, because they have heard countless times about how I would ride my bike all day, and play with my friends. The original Nintendo didn’t come out until I was a teenager, so I spend the vast majority of my time outside playing. I participated in sports throughout my life, and even today I play tennis, volleyball, and softball. I’ve always loved being an active guy. I started to become less active after my children were born, because I spent more time at home helping my wife with the usual duties that come with raising kids. I probably put on about 10-15 lbs with each pregnancy, and we have 3 kids. That explains 30-45 pounds, but I’m overweight by approximately 100 lbs. It became really easy to sit on the couch and watch sports rather than to participate for a long time, and my food intake went from home cooked meals to fast food and junk food. Over the course of 40 years I went from eating whatever mom had put on the table, to whatever was the easiest and/or most convenient at the time. When you add these things together, it’s easy to see how the weight went on.

The difficult question now is why is the weight not coming off? I play tennis twice a week, and volleyball once a week. During the summer I play softball as well. I am starting to train for a spring triathlon in June, and hopefully that will jump-start some real weight loss, but the biggest problem is still that diet. Why is it so hard to stay away from that fast food? I think by now most people have seen Super Size Me by Morgan Spurlock, or have watched at least one episode of The Biggest Loser. I have the same issues as most of those folks, in that I don’t eat a single cheeseburger with a small fry and a small drink. I eat until I’m no longer hungry! I guess the bottom line is that this is the reason I’m here. Now comes the part I need some help with.

How do I make a real lasting change???

I’ve said on multiple occasions that I was going to do P90X or I’m going to lose 75 lbs by doing x,y, or z, but the weight is still here. I’m asking anyone and everyone that sees this post to give me some advice (especially if you’ve lost any significant weight in the past). How do I go about changing my mentality to one will benefit me in the future, rather than see me in the same place next year at this time?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Actions

Information

One response

14 03 2013
bgddyjim

For space’s sake I’ll be abrupt. You don’t lose weight because, while you are active, you don’t burn more than you eat… You should be riding an hour a day, minimum – on a mountain bike. That’s 800 calories a day or a pound and a half a week. From there you have to calculate your daily caloric requirement (at your size, I’d guess 3,000 give or take) then subtract 500. That’s where you live. When you cycle, do so in zone two for your heart rate as this will help your body burn fat, not carbs (should be pretty slow). So that’s a pound from food and a pound and a half burned per week.

Eating 500 calories less than your requirement will suck but only for a couple of weeks. If you can last that long without gnawing on your elbows your body will adapt and you’ll stop being so hungry. The try the Slim Kicker app. I liked it. You can eat anything you want as long as you stay under your target. Before long you’ll find that the better the food you eat, the more you get to eat.

Being active is more than softball – tennis is getting there but softball is a few sprints followed by a lot of down time.

I wish you luck my friend.

Leave a Reply

